North Jeolla Province

North Jeolla Province

North Jeolla Province (Korean: 전라북도; Hanja: 全羅北道; Jeollabuk-do; Korean pronunciation: [tɕʌ̚.t͈o]), also known as Jeonbuk, is a province of South Korea. North Jeolla has a population of 1,869,711 (2015) and has a geographic area of 8,067 km2 (3,115 sq mi) located in the Honam region in the southwest of the Korean Peninsula. North Jeolla borders the provinces of South Jeolla to the south, North Gyeongsang and South Gyeongsang to the east, North Chungcheong to the northeast, and South Chungcheong to the north.

Jeonju is the capital and largest city of North Jeolla, with other major cities including Iksan, Gunsan, and Jeongeup.

North Jeolla was established in 1896 from the province of Jeolla, one of the Eight Provinces of Korea, consisting of the northern half of its mainland territory.

Add new comment

Esta pregunta es para comprobar si usted es un visitante humano y prevenir envíos de spam automatizado.