Taputapuatea is a commune of French Polynesia, an overseas territory of France in the Pacific Ocean. The commune of Taputapuatea is located on the island of Raiatea, in the administrative subdivision of the Leeward Islands, themselves part of the Society Islands. At the 2017 census it had a population of 4,792. In 2017 Taputapuatea along with Taputapuatea marae were inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage Sites list.

Taputapuatea consists of the following associated communes:

  • Avera
  • Opoa
  • Puohine

The administrative centre of the commune is the settlement of Avera.

The commune was named after a large marae complex which was once considered the religious center of eastern Polynesia. The archaeological site of Taputapuatea marae is still today the most famous landmark of Raiatea.


What can you do around?